Lucky Shoes

When it comes to job interviews, they can be pretty nerve wracking. There’s so much you need to prepare, research, make sure you know where you’re going (don’t just rely on Sat Nav alone – I made that mistake and ended up being 10 minutes late, not a good first impression!!) and finally what you’re going to wear.

I’ve read a few different articles that advise you to wear smart things, a suit ideally. It’s always better to dress up then look like you haven’t made an effort. All pretty basic, common sense stuff. I also read somewhere once to add a little something to make you stand out, be remembered and not just another face in a black suit.

When I was searching for a new job last year, I decided to wear a simple black fitted dress, black tights and my new pair of leopard print kitten heel shoes. I looked professional, smart but with a hint of attitude.

Shoes

I kept my jewellery simple and my make-up soft. After all I didn’t want to scare them!

I think by having just one statement piece of clothing or jewellery you can emerge from the crowd, make a lasting impression and be the person who gets that dream job.

That particular interview went very well and I was offered the job. Unfortunately it didn’t quite work out, and I have since had around five or six interviews. For each one I have worn my trusty outfit, and each one has been a positive experience. So for me, it’s like having a lucky charm. It gives me an extra boost of confidence when needed most, and although I know the shoes don’t have any special powers, they’ve not failed me yet! (said whilst touching wood lol)

DSC_0314

So, when you have something big and important coming up like an interview or performance or maybe even a sport, do you have a lucky item that you can’t leave the house without?

Leave a comment